RSS

March Planting!!!

15 Mar

According to my handy Planting guide (which you can also view under the resources tab), March is the time to plant several early spring vegetables.

During the month of March I will plant: Potatoes (seed potato)
lettuce (seed and transplants)
spinach (seed and transplants)
peas (seed)
broccoli (transplants I have already started indoors.)

The dates on the sheet indicate the earliest planting dates, don’t feel like a failure if you don’t plant them exactly on the dates indicated.

For example, it’s rainy this week and still cold. In fact, the local stores haven’t even started bringing in the seed potatoes. Last week I only saw the stores stocking some lettuces, and perennial fruits & veggies (asparagus, cane berries).

as I stated, I have already started some spinach, arugula, lettuce, broccoli, and onions indoors and will keep them inside for the time being and I will also try and sow some of the lettuce, spinach seeds outdoors – but not while it’s raining. Some of these basic practices are still experiments for me because I have not planted lettuce, arugula or onions before – we’ll just see how it goes. I will keep you up to date as I start planting certain things.

So, you’re thinking, do I need to do anything now? If it’s your first time gardening, I’d suggest just getting potatoes and maybe spinach seeds for the time being. Potatoes are pretty easy. Dig them in a deep trench so they have plenty of room to make a lot of potatoes and as they grow mound that dirt up around them (see youtube videos). Chives and Parsley are good too, but plant them in that permanent spot for your perennials.

P.S. I found my camera! So, I will post some pics soon.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 15, 2011 in 2011 Vegetable Garden

 

Leave a Reply

 
