RSS

WORMS & COMPOSTER

21 Apr

Fat Fishing worms in the composter

I have to update you on the worms living inside the composter.  They’ve been there for over a month and they have not only grown, but multiplied!  I am astonished at how active they are.  About once or twice a week we give them water and a tumble or two then I open it back up to see what’s going on and there they are squirming back down into the dark.  It is kind of like having another pet, though; you do think in the back of your mind….Do they have enough water??  I mean, if they weren’t there I wouldn’t be thinking that at all.  But water is important to the composting process, so maybe it’s just as well.  I water them at least once a week and it’s not even hot yet….

I think my husband is onto something here……What with fishing right around the corner.  The countertop composter keeper is the bomb!  I really like it; there is no smell (unlike the bowl I was using before).  And it is somewhat attractive for what it is used for.  They do make under the counter compost keepers too that are just little trash cans with a charcoal filter.  I add a little shredded paper or dried out leaves or grass every 3rd time I add the gallon sized compost keeper of counter shreds to the composter.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “WORMS & COMPOSTER

  1. Richelle Stowe

    April 21, 2011 at 2:02 am

    Go Girl!!! I am so happy your vermicomposting is going well! I missed your post on the countertop keeper. What kind is it? Where did you get it? Love your blog! 🙂

     
    • Idaho Home Grown

      April 21, 2011 at 12:10 pm

      I picked up the countertop composter at Fred Meyer’s and used one of their additional 10% off coupons they have in their sunday ad. It was approx $21 which is the cheapest I’ve been able to find it. It is white ceramic. They have stainless, but I think that looks too much like a garbage can sitting on your counter.

       
  2. Naomi Pockell

    April 21, 2011 at 5:18 am

    Carolyn–I’m assuming you know that worms can compost without being tumbled. We had a worm bin for a year or so and I was astounded at 1)how much they could eat and 2)how quickly they grew in numbers to accommodate the amount of waste matter they were being fed. A great resource manual on the subject is called Worms Eat My Garbage–not sure of the author as I can’t seem to locate my copy. So when are you getting some chickens?

     
    • Idaho Home Grown

      April 21, 2011 at 12:15 pm

      Hi Naomi! Well, the worms were my husband’s idea; he wants them for fishing at the lake – can’t blame him because we do spend a small fortune on worm bait for the kids. I wanted the tumbler because it’s supposed to breakdown quicker – and I must say that it does. I wasn’t sure if the worms would survive the tumbling actually. I am going to search the library for the book you mention. I have made a worm bin before, many years ago, but I just couldn’t stay on top of their demanding lifestyle!!! Chickens…I would love, but our subdivision won’t allow them although I wouldn’t shoo one away that showed up in my yard lost….something to eat bugs and add instant fertilizer would be nice.

       
  3. Naomi Pockell

    April 21, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    I’m not sure chickens are technically legal here, either, but we have a dozen in a big coop David built in the back corner of the yard that has no neighbors near it. I think with the growing popularity of poultry as pets, more places are at least tolerant of keeping one or two–properly maintained, they smell only slightly worse than ripening compost! As for eating bugs–absolutely–but they also plow through anything green that sprouts. I’m currently trying to figure out how to fence my raised bed so that we have access but the girls don’t.

     

Leave a Reply

 
