RSS

A Dibble Tool? “It’s a Good Thing”

13 May

I recently went on the search for a dibble tool.  What’s that?  Well, it’s a very basic hand held tool that the Shaker’s used when planting seeds.  It’s a wooden lathed/carved conical shaped tool with hash marks every inch.  One end is sharp and the other end has the handle.

Handcrafted Oak Dibble Tool with 1" hash markings

I was eager to use this to plant both transplants and seedlings.  At first I thought it might be more of a novelty to use because you really just are poking holes into the ground.  But I was pleasantly surprised at how much faster and cleaner I was easier to work the ground with this tool.  I used it to plant 1″ deep seeds as well as used it to spear into the ground 4″ deep and work around to make a wider opening to get transplants into the ground.  For example, for the pole beans, I punched a 1″ deep hole every 3″ the length of my trellis and just popped in a bean in a hole and then swept my hand over the length of it and patted it down.  Done!

I found this handcrafted one on Ebay from Maine for less than $20 (that included S&H).  They are not common; you definitely have to go online. “It’s a good thing”

 

2 responses to “A Dibble Tool? “It’s a Good Thing”

  1. Naomi Pockell

    May 13, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    I’ve had one of these for many years, though mine has a curved handle. I can’t remember where I got it, It was so long ago. I think a long skinny trowel with inch markings would do the same job, don’t you think? But yours is a beautiful tool! ❤

     
    • Idaho Home Grown

      June 15, 2011 at 1:06 pm

      Sorry for the late reply….But at first I was even thinking an old sawed down broom handle with sharpie hash lines would do the trick too. I have to tell you though that I’ve been using this tool a lot now that I have it to plant seeds and starts. It’s very handy and the older kids easily understand how to use it too. Has cut my planting time a lot – but so have the helpers of mine!

       

Leave a Reply

 
