RSS

The Harvest Has Started! Plus Additional Planting.

14 Jun

Well, I am proud to say that I am beginning to harvest the sugar snap peas and the broccoli now.   Here is a Sample Picture .

One Head of broccoli & Sugar Snap Peas Harvested Sunday 6/12/11

The kids were itching to start cutting all two heads of the ready broccoli and pick all the peas.  I had to stop them at just this Sunday night.  There’s no better way to get your kids eating vegetables like growing them yourselves!  No Lie.  I was hounded to prepare this small bounty Sunday night, which I did and it was eaten with gusto.  Andrew tells me this is his favorite time of the year in the garden; time to search and harvest for things.  Wyatt loves to plant the seeds and Austin just likes to eat the food.  They actually provide little tours of the garden to their friends – it’s so neat to see their pride in it all.  They are making plans to sell the goods too.

I harvested the second head of broccoli yesterday along with another bowl of peas which one my sons ate raw that afternoon while reading.  The sugar snap peas have edible pods and are like the ones in the Costco Veggie Platters.  You can steam them, throw in stir fry, or eat raw.

Broccoli – It seems to be growing at different rates all by itself, so I am not inundated with a lot of fresh broccoli at once.  I am able to harvest several days apart and eat freshly picked so far.

Yesterday we succession planted: more walla walla seeds, green onions bulbs, paddy pan seed, zucchini seed, yellow squash seed, watermelon seed (new), red pepper starts (new), big bertha pepper starts (new), wax bean seed, carrot seed again!  I already have 4 california wonder peppers planted but they never seem to do well – so I put in some others to see what happens and I can freeze the excess.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 14, 2011 in 2011 Vegetable Garden

 

3 responses to “The Harvest Has Started! Plus Additional Planting.

  1. Naomi Pockell

    June 14, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    Nice early harvest! Carolyn, I have never had good luck with bell peppers until last year. Somebody told me they need to be planted much closer together then the recommended distance, and I did that. Voila! I had a lovely crop. Don’t know if it’s anecdotal, but it worked last year, so I’ve done it again this year. We’ll see….

     
    • Idaho Home Grown

      June 15, 2011 at 1:03 pm

      How close do you plant yours? And do you know what variety you use? The original 4 are planted 12″ (approx) apart and I used the SF method on these; so across 3 ft of space each one is planted in the “middle”. The other 2 extra ones I planted in the middle of the row a foot away each. So the 4 are kind of clustered and the other 2 not so much. Yes, let me know how yours do this year please!

       
  2. Stephanie, GCCC

    August 10, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    Hi Carolyn,

    I read your comment on our website…Gem County Chamber of Commerce…
    http://www.emmettidaho.com, the Orchard Map is posted on the page is listed as
    2011 Gem County Orchard Map. Let me know if you have any questions
    email me at steph@emmettidaho.com.
    Thank you!! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
