RSS

Fall Planting Starts Now

08 Jul

The local paper has a regular gardening column and that is today’s title. I have already been thinking about what to plant and how to get my hands on certain items.

Margaret Lauterbach who authors the column says that we count back from th e average date of first killing frost, which is Obtober 9th here in the Boise/Treasure Valley area, then to compare this date to the crop maturity date and plan on a harvest before Oct. 9th (with some flexibility).

She says to start your seeds indoor for Fall brocolli, cabbage, asian greens, collards, the other brocolli relations. Also, plant fall crops of root veggies (carrots, beets, turnips, etc) outdoors into the dirt.

I might try cabbage – we like that. But I also want to plant leeks and garlic. I might plug along and try the carrots again – because the 2 that germinated from a whole packet in the spring are still alive. I will have to ask my neighbor about the garlic – where she buys it as I can’t seem to find it and I am wondering if the garlic I buy at the market will work? I’ll research that one…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2011 in 2011 Vegetable Garden

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Fall Planting Starts Now

  1. Naomi Pockell

    July 8, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    You should be able to grow store garlic–and remember, the larger the clove, the larger the new head. There is also hard neck and soft neck varieties–see what’s best for your area. I still have leeks springing up around my garden from the first and only time we planted them over 20 years ago. I find that strange! I’ve had bad luck with root vegetables in general. I wish I could grow beets, but i’ve only ever gotten a couple. Maybe I’ll try again this winter. I think you can keep chard growing overwinter, too. Can’t wait to hear how your fall crop goes.

     
  2. Idaho Home Grown

    July 12, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    I will try the store garlic. I am not growing chard this year because I had bad luck last year – but last year was bad. Maybe I just need to take a break from it this year. I bought rutabegas (sp?) to grow too. I’ve got to research again. I bought more brocolli seed, cabbage seed (which has never grown good for me), leeks. will update when I see some action on these.

     

Leave a Reply

 
