RSS

Planting Garlic in Southwestern Idaho

14 Jul

Well, I am starting to think about seriously putting in the Fall crops as I mentioned in an earlier post.  I also want to plant my own garlic so I did a little research.  Here is a link that explains a little bit about the types of garlic and it specifically points out timing here in the Pacific Northwest.  Be sure to mulch the ground over with dried leaves, dried grass/hay or even shredded paper to insulate through the winter.

http://westsidegardener.com/articles/1997/garlic_lovers.html

You would harvest in Mid Summer which is about late July.  I love how the poster of the link above said the reliable garlic came from safeway.  to think I was worrying about where to get it?

P.S.  I learned this fact from you tube; but did you know that much of our garlic comes from China?  about 70% of it does.  Yes, shocking, but then not so much as it seems everything comes from china….

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
