RSS

Canning and Freezing accomplished this year

15 Dec

This year I canned chopped tomatoes, tomato sauce, marinara sauce, apple pie filling (to just dump in pie crust then bake), jams, turkey noodle soup from leftover thanksgiving turkey, dilled beans, green beans, wax beans.

I froze chopped bell peppers, corn and peas that I shelled. We have also been busy filling the freezer with the moose my husband hunted and the deer my son provided to feed us throughout the year. We are still working on filling the freezer for the year with additional game meat harvested and butchered by my family.

This “comprehensive list” of food items was grown by me or local grown (i.e. the turkey was grown organically on a local farm; the apples – someone at church brought a bunch of boxes and I took one), or harvested/hunted by my family.

Having these experiences with our food source keeps me (and my family) mindful of wastefulness, food quality, and propels me to think more and more outside of the box with reusing or repurposing other household items that would otherwise be considered waste. I am also proud of my overall success each year with my growing baby steps and being able to share these successes (along with the few failures)with my kids. It shows them visually that even though there might be several flops, overall, the harvest is truely bountiful.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
