RSS

Time for the countdown! Starting Seed Indoor?

16 Jan

It’s already here! Time to start thinking about what seed you will start indoors in the PacNW. Harvesting your own food; It’s not an off again, on again hobby. Our family recently finished butchering the elk my son harvested right before Christmas. We get to take January off! Only to start thinking seeds, starting late January, February.

If you are thinking of starting seeds, check out the seed savers exchange catalog. I received a membership from my husband for my birthday and the catalog has so many lovely heirloom choices!!! But, this year, I have so many leftovers – I doubt that I will order much, if any. Inventory any seeds you have and what you will need for starting seed indoor as well as your early spring plantings. And start making your garden plan for the year (as I will).
FEB-March – start seed indoors according to your last frost date.
Mid-March – Is timing to direct seed those early spring veggies, and if I am thinking correctly any started brocolli and plant potatoes and lettuces.

Note any big changes (here are a few of mine off the top of my head):

TOMATOES — One whole row devoted to tomatoes instead of the 5-6 plants. I notice that I use at least 1 quart jar of marinara sauce each month — and in addition, we use plenty of chopped tomatoes and sauce throughout the year. What I made this year will likely not last until next harvest.

PEPPERS – My 6 pepper plants were enough, I think – I still have a good frozen supply.

PEAS – shelling peas. I might plant more sugar peas and allow them to grow and shell OR plant specific shelling peas. The ones I shelled were the best peas I have ever eaten — so I’ll likely devote space for this purpose. AND the peas froze wonerfully!

CUCUMBERS – Might really try to plant pickling – depends on space.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2012 in 2012 Garden, Canning/Preserving

 

2 responses to “Time for the countdown! Starting Seed Indoor?

  1. Richelle

    January 16, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    It’s that time of the year again!!! Your blog is so motivating. Do you only can the tomatoes during the harvest or do you freeze some? We just discovered that if you freeze quarters and hand cut them frozen…they taste great in pico de gallo. Pair the tomatoes with the frozen peppers, add onion, cilantro, lime juice and salt…oh my!!! Putting them in the food processor makes them mushy and watery…hand cut is the best.

     
  2. Idaho Home Grown

    January 16, 2012 at 5:01 pm

    Hey you! I can the tomatoes because I often do not have the freezer space!!! Freezing is faster, but since I don’t have much experience with specifically freezing tomatoes I can’t comment on its effect on texture. But like you said, probably planning ahead by cutting, chopping, saucing them before freezing is the way to go; don’t wait to unfreeze them and then “process” them into the way you would use them. That’s what I do with canning; I chop some, sauce some, make marinara with some and some whole/peeled before I put them in the can. I bet the salsa comes out great! Waiting to taste it! I think if I get a lot of onions this year, I will chop/slice and freeze those to for future use if I am unable to properly temperature store them (need root cellar environment).

     

Leave a Reply

 
